Think Tank for the VDA

The AQI develops and evaluates answers to current pre-competitive questions of quality management for the QM subcommittee of the German automotive industry association (VDA QMA). In this capacity, we make important preparatory contributions to the work of the committees of the VDA and the implementation of new results in its member companies. We collaborate closely with some VDA research groups, such as Automotive Security, and actively participate in others, such as Agile Collaboration, OTA, etc.

Based on our conceptual work, we develop concrete products and take on project management responsibilities (such as for cloud-based AI analysis for the reliability control loop).

We cooperate closely with scientific institutions and automotive industry experts. A selection of the projects completed for the VDA QMA can be found here.

Consulting for companies of the automotive industry

The AQI supports automotive companies in preparing their quality management for current and future challenges, and it also provides the necessary project management during the implementation phase. We do not roll out standards; rather, we deliver management consulting custom-tailored to the requirements of our customers. Listening is an essential part of our work, and we consult in constant dialog with experts and our customers' management. We hold workshops and interviews to identify and prioritize the measures necessary. We support the implementation phase by providing reviews and honest feedback.

The subjects on which we consult include automotive cyber-security incident responseagility in the automotive industry, and over-the-air updates.

Ideals and Values

For us, quality management means creating real added value for our customers and for the end customers of the automotive industry. We focus on developing necessary and meaningful measures to provide quality products and services to the automotive industry's consumers. Quality standards are not an end in themselves – they need to serve the purpose of improving and maintaining product quality and so must be instituted rationally and proportionately.

The products of the automotive industry are more than just vehicles to us. We regard the automotive industry as the industry of mobility, with all the challenging new aspects it implies. Our ambition is to question conventions and find new approaches and solutions. It is important to us that a dialog take place – with scientific development furnishing ideas and the automotive industry delivering practical implementations.

For the sake of our customers and ourselves, we remain committed to the following values:

  • Openness: We make our methods and results transparent and easy to understand.
  • Focus: We concentrate on the decisive issues. 
  • Courage: We address open issues and work toward their prompt resolution.
  • Respect: We regard contrary opinions as opportunities to gain new insight. 
  • Commitment: We make statements and promises clearly and stand by them.

Denkfabrik für den VDA

Das AQI erarbeitet und bewertet im Auftrag des Qualitätsmanagement-Ausschusses im Verband der Automobilindustrie (VDA QMA) Konzepte zu aktuellen vorwettbewerblichen Fragen des Qualitätsmanagements. Damit leisten wir einen wichtigen, inhaltlichen Beitrag (zur Vorbereitung und Unterstützung) der Arbeit / Ausarbeitung der Themen in den VDA-Gremien und zur Umsetzung in den Unternehmen. Wir stehen im engen Austausch mit VDA-Arbeitskreisen (z. B. dem AK Automotive Security) oder nehmen aktiv an ihnen Teil (z. B. dem AK Agile Collaboration oder dem AK OTA).

Ausgehend von unseren Konzepten entwickeln wir konkrete Produkte und verantworten das Projektmanagement (z. B. cloudbasierte KI-Analysen für den Zuverlässigkeitsregelkreis).

Wir arbeiten eng mit wissenschaftlichen Partnern und Experten aus der Automobilindustrie zusammen. Eine Auswahl der bislang durchgeführten Projekte für den VDA QMA finden Sie hier.

Beratung für Unternehmen der Automobilindustrie

Das AQI unterstützt Unternehmen der Automobilindustrie, um deren Qualitätsmanagement fit für aktuelle und zukünftige Herausforderungen zu machen, und bietet das dazugehörige Projektmanagement für die Umsetzung. Wir rollen keine Standards aus, sondern liefern individuelle Organisationsberatung zugeschnitten auf die Bedürfnisse unserer Kunden. Dabei ist Zuhören ein integraler Bestandteil unserer Beratung: Wir beraten im Dialog mit Experten und dem Management unserer Kunden. In Workshops und durch Interviews identifizieren und priorisieren wir Handlungsbedarfe. Die Umsetzung begleiten wir durch Reviews und ehrliches Feedback.

Zu unseren Beratungsthemen gehören Automotive Cybersecurity-Incident-ResponseAgilität in der Automobilindustrie und Over-the-Air-Updates.

Ideale und Werte

Qualitätsmanagement bedeutet für uns, echten Mehrwert für unsere Kunden und für die Endkunden der Automobilindustrie zu schaffen. Im Fokus steht für uns das fachlich Notwendige und Sinnvolle, damit den Verbrauchern der Automobilindustrie hochwertige Produkte und Dienstleistungen angeboten werden. Qualitätsstandards sind kein Selbstzweck, sondern dienen der Produktqualität und sollten mit Verstand und Augenmaß eingesetzt werden.

Produkte der Automobilindustrie sind für uns mehr als nur Fahrzeuge. Wir verstehen die Automobilindustrie als Mobilitätsindustrie mit all ihren neuen, herausfordernden Facetten. Unser Anspruch ist es, Hergebrachtes zu hinterfragen und in neuen Lösungsansätzen zu denken. Dabei ist uns der Dialog wichtig: mit der Wissenschaft als Ideengeber und der Automobilindustrie als Garant für eine praxistaugliche Umsetzung.

Gegenüber unseren Kunden und uns selbst verpflichten wir uns zu den Werten

  • Offenheit – wir stellen unsere Arbeitsweisen und Ergebnisse transparent und verständlich dar
  • Fokus – wir konzentrieren uns auf die entscheidenden Aspekte 
  • Mut – wir sprechen offene Punkte an und suchen die zeitnahe Klärung
  • Respekt – wir betrachten konträre Meinungen als Chance des Erkenntnisgewinns 
  • Commitment – wir sind klar und verbindlich in unseren Aus- und Zusagen